Contact Us

The HSO staff and IRB chairs are here to assist you. The HSO is located in Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, 600 Newton Road, Suite 105.  Our business hours are *8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.  We encourage you to call, e-mail, or visit us regarding the IRB application process or policies and procedures. If you are not sure who to contact, please use the main HSO phone number -- (319) 335-6564 or send us an e-mail at irb@uiowa.edu. (link sends e-mail)

*Please note, HSO staff are not available to answer the main number between 12 – 12:30 p.m. daily.  All voicemails received during this hour will be returned after 12:30 p.m.   

HawkIRB Help

CITI Training
ClinicalTrials.gov
Community Based Research
Compliance Program
Conflict of Interest in Research Committee (CIRC)
Education and Outreach Program
External/Single IRB Use
IRB Chairs
IRB Full Board submissions
IRB Full Board Scheduling
IRB-02 Social Science/Behavioral program
IRB-03 VAMC Questions
Minimal Risk Studies
Policies & Guidance
All HSO Staff

Please call the Main HSO Line, 319-335-6564, for general assistance with HawkIRB applications.


 

CITI Training

Joanie Neyens, CIP Senior IRB Application Analyst 319.384.1176 joanie-wilson@uiowa.edu

Please review the page on required CITI training for additional information.

 

ClinicalTrials.gov Registration

                                                         319.335.6564 ct-gov@uiowa.edu

Please review the page on ClincalTrials.gov registration requirements for additional information.

 

Community Based Research

Kelly O'Berry, CIP Education and Outreach Manager 319.335.8477 kelly-oberry@uiowa.edu

 

Compliance Program

Therese Barenz, CCRC, CIP Senior IRB Compliance and Education Specialist 319.384.4546 therese-barenz@uiowa.edu
Lisa Schumacher, PhD IRB Compliance and Education Specialist 319.384.4624 lisa-schumacher@uiowa.edu

 

Conflict of Interest in Research Committee (CIRC)

Martha Hedberg, MPA Conflict of Interest in Research Manager 319.384.4256 martha-hedberg@uiowa.edu
Christopher Taylor, MLIS Conflict of Interest in Research Assistant 319.467.1012 christopher-taylor@uiowa.edu

 

Education and Outreach Program

Kelly O'Berry, CIP IRB Education and Outreach Manager 319.335.8477 kelly-oberry@uiowa.edu
Maegan Tyrrell, CHES IRB Education and Outreach Specialist 319.467.1644 maegan-tyrrell@uiowa.edu

 

External/Single IRB Use

Nicholas Montgomery External IRB Coordinator 319.467.0747 uirb-external@uiowa.edu
Mark Brunt, MBA Commercial IRB Coordinator 319.335.7297 uiwirb@uiowa.edu

Please review the page on external and single/central IRB reliance models for additional information.

 

IRB Chairs

J. Andrew Bertolatus, MD Primary IRB Chair   319.384.4424 john-bertolatus@uiowa.edu
Catherine Woodman, MD IRB-01 Expedited IRB-03 319.339.7186 catherine-woodman@uiowa.edu
Lois Geist, MD IRB-03 319.339.8067 lois-geist@uiowa.edu
Dixie Ecklund, RN, MSN, MBA IRB-01    319.335.8446 dixie-ecklund@uiowa.edu
Douglas L. Somers, MD IRB-01 319.356.8252 douglas-somers@uiowa.edu
William McGinnis, MD IRB-01   william-mcginnis@uiowa.edu
Janet Karen Williams, PhD, RN, FAAN IRB-02 319.335.7046 janet-williams@uiowa.edu
John Wadsworth, PhD IRB-02 319.335.5246 john-s-wadsworth@uiowa.edu
Michael Lovaglia, PhD IRB-02 319.335.2494 michael-lovaglia@uiowa.edu

 

IRB Full Board Scheduling                  

Joanne Seeberger IRB Full Board Coordinator 319.353.3052 joanne-seeberger@uiowa.edu

 

IRB Full Board submissions: Pre-Screen, Minutes, Minutes Response

Tony Quinlan, MBA, CIP IRB Administrator 319.335.9848  tony-quinlan@uiowa.edu
Damon Shutt, PhD, CIP Senior IRB Application Analyst 319.384.4781 damon-shutt@uiowa.edu

 

IRB-02 Social Science/Behavioral Program

Joanie Neyens, CIP Senior IRB Applications Analyst 319.384.1176 joanie-wilson@uiowa.edu
Wendy Daubert Application Analyst 319.384.1736 wendy-daubert@uiowa.edu

 

IRB-03 VAMC Questions

Tony Quinlan, MBA, CIP  IRB Administrator 319.335.9848 tony-quinlan@uiowa.edu
Nadine Miller VA Liaison 319.338.0581 x3595 nadine-miller@uiowa.edu
Damon Shutt Senior IRB Application Analyst 319.384.4781 damon-shutt@uiowa.edu

 

Minimal Risk Studies 

Brian Bishop, MA, CIP Senior IRB Application Analyst (01/03) 319.335.6563 brian-bishop@uiowa.edu
Joanie Neyens, CIP Senior IRB Application Analyst (02) 319.384.1176 joanie-wilson@uiowa.edu

 

Policies & Guidance

J. Andrew "Andy" Bertolatus, MD Primary IRB Chair 319.384.4424 john-bertolatus@uiowa.edu
Michele Countryman, CIP Director 319.353.4452 michele-countryman@uiowa.edu

Click here for additional information on reporting a concern. 

 

All HSO Staff

Michele Countryman, CIP Director 319.353.4452
J. Andrew "Andy" Bertolatus, MD Primary IRB Chair 319.384.4424
Tony Quinlan, MBA, CIP IRB Administrator 319.335.9848
Kelly O'Berry, CIP IRB Education and Outreach Manager 319.335.8477
Martha Hedberg, MPA Conflict of Interest in Research Manager 319.384.4256
Therese Barenz, CCRC, CIP Senior IRB Compliance and Education Specialist 319.384.4546
Brian Bishop, MA, CIP Senior IRB Application Analyst 319.335.6563
Brian Brotzman, MA Senior Compliance Specialist (ClinicalTrials.gov) 319.384.4623
Mark Brunt, MBA Commercial IRB Coordinator 319.335.7297
Gabrielle Ursula Chelette IRB Application Analyst 319.335.6837
Wendy Daubert, MA IRB Application Analyst 319.384.1736
Julie Eisele IRB Application Analyst 319.467.1807
Jarrod Feld WIRB/Biomedical IRB Application Coordinator  
Nicholas Montgomery External IRB Coordinator 319.467.0747
Joanie Neyens, CIP Senior IRB Application Analyst 319.384.1176
Lisa Schumacher, PhD IRB Compliance and Education Specialist 319.384.4624
Joanne Seeberger, MA IRB Full Board Coordinator 319.353.3052
Damon Shutt, PhD, CIP Senior IRB Application Analyst 319.384.4781
Christopher Taylor, MLIS Conflict of Interest in Research Assistant 319.467.1012
Maegan Tyrrell, CHES IRB Education and Outreach Specialist 319.467.1644

 

Upload: