Contact Us

The HSO staff and IRB chairs are here to assist you. The HSO is located in Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, 600 Newton Road, Suite 105.  Our business hours are *8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.  We encourage you to call, e-mail, or visit us regarding the IRB application process or policies and procedures. If you are not sure who to contact, please use the main HSO phone number -- (319) 335-6564 or send us an e-mail at irb@uiowa.edu. (link sends e-mail)

*Please note, HSO staff are not available to answer the main number between 12 – 12:30 p.m. daily.  All voicemails received during this hour will be returned after 12:30 p.m.   

HawkIRB Help
IRB Full Board submissions
IRB-01 Full Board Scheduling
IRB-02 Social Science\Behavioral program
Minimal Risk Studies 
Conflict of Interest in Research Committee (CIRC)
IRB-01 Modifications
IRB-03 VAMC Questions
IRB Chairs
UI/Western IRB (WIRB) Applications
UI External IRB Applications
Education and Outreach Program
Compliance Program
Community Based Research
Policies & Guidance

 

HawkIRB Help

Brian Bishop, MA, CIP Senior IRB Application Analyst 319.335.6563 brian-bishop@uiowa.edu
Damon Shutt, PhD Senior IRB Application Analyst 319.384.4781 damon-shutt@uiowa.edu

 

IRB Full Board submissions: Pre-Screen, Minutes, Minutes Response

Tony Quinlan, MBA, CIP Senior IRB Application Analyst 319.335.9848  tony-quinlan@uiowa.edu
Becka Simpson, MSW, CIP Senior IRB Application Analyst 319.335.6911 rebecca-simpson@uiowa.edu

 

IRB-01 Full Board Scheduling                  

Anna Mertes, MEd IRB Coordinator 319.335.9915 anna-mertes@uiowa.edu

 

IRB-02 Social Science/Behavioral Program

Joanie Neyens, CIP Senior IRB Applications Analyst 319.384.1176 joanie-wilson@uiowa.edu

         

Minimal Risk Studies 

Brian Bishop, MA, CIP Senior IRB Application Analyst (01/03) 319.335.6563 brian-bishop@uiowa.edu
Joanie Neyens, CIP Senior IRB Application Analyst (02) 319.384.1176 joanie-wilson@uiowa.edu

  

Conflict of Interest in Research Committee (CIRC)

Martha Hedberg, MPA Conflict of Interest in Research Specialist 319.384.4256 martha-hedberg@uiowa.edu
Joanne Seeberger Conflict of Interest in Research Assistant 319.353.3052 joanne-seeberger@uiowa.edu

 

IRB-01 Modifications

Brian Bishop, MA, CIP Senior IRB Application Analyst 319.335.6563 brian-bishop@uiowa.edu

 

IRB-03 VAMC Questions

Tony Quinlan, MBA, CIP  Senior IRB Application Analyst 319.335.9848 tony-quinlan@uiowa.edu
Nadine Miller VA Liaison 319.338.0581 x3595 nadine-miller@uiowa.edu

 

IRB Chairs

J. Andrew Bertolatus, MD Primary IRB Chair   319.384.4424 john-bertolatus@uiowa.edu
Herbert Berger, MD IRB-01   319.335.8318 herbert-berger@uiowa.edu
Catherine Woodman, MD IRB-01 Expedited IRB-03 319.339.7186 catherine-woodman@uiowa.edu
Lois Geist, MD IRB-03 319.339.8067 lois-geist@uiowa.edu
Dixie Ecklund, RN, MSN, MBA IRB-01    319.335.8446 dixie-ecklund@uiowa.edu
Janet Karen Williams, PhD, RN, FAAN IRB-02 319.335.9915 janet-williams@uiowa.edu
John Wadsworth, PhD IRB-02 319.335.5246 john-s-wadsworth@uiowa.edu

 

UI/Western IRB (WIRB) Applications

Kathy Beck, MSN, MBA, CIP WIRB/IRB Application Coordinator 319.335.7297 uiwirb@uiowa.edu

 

Education and Outreach Program

Kelly O'Berry, CIP IRB Education and Outreach Manager 319.335.8477 kelly-oberry@uiowa.edu
Brent Collinsworth, MA IRB Education and Outreach Specialist 319.335.9559 brenton-collinsworth@uiowa.edu

 

Compliance Program

Therese Barenz, CCRC, CIP Senior IRB Compliance and Education Specialist 319.384.4546 therese-barenz@uiowa.edu
Patricia Katopol, PhD Senior IRB Compliance and Education Specialist 319.335.7090 patricia-katopol@uiowa.edu
Brian Brotzman, MA Senior Compliance Specialist, ClinicalTrials.gov 319.335.6837

brian-brotzman@uiowa.edu

Community Based Research

Kelly O'Berry, CIP Education and Outreach Manager 319.335.8477 kelly-oberry@uiowa.edu

 

Policies & Guidance

J. Andrew Bertolatus (Andy), MD Primary IRB Chair 319.384.4424 john-bertolatus@uiowa.edu
Michele Countryman, CIP Director 319.353.4452 michele-countryman@uiowa.edu

The HSO Org Chart is located here.

Click here for additional information on reporting a concern.