Contact Us

The HSO staff and IRB chairs are here to assist you. The HSO is located in Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, 600 Newton Road, Suite 105.  Our business hours are *8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.  We encourage you to call, e-mail, or visit us regarding the IRB application process or policies and procedures. If you are not sure who to contact, please use the main HSO phone number -- (319) 335-6564 or send us an e-mail at irb@uiowa.edu. (link sends e-mail)

*Please note, HSO staff are not available to answer the main number between 12 – 12:30 p.m. daily.  All voicemails received during this hour will be returned after 12:30 p.m.   

HawkIRB Help

CITI Training
ClinicalTrials.gov
Community Based Participatory Research
Compliance Program
Conflict of Interest in Research Committee (CIRC)
Education and Outreach Program
External/Single IRB Use
IRB Chairs
IRB Full Board submissions
IRB Full Board Scheduling
IRB-02 Social Science/Behavioral program
IRB-03 VAMC Questions
Minimal Risk Studies
Policies & Guidance
All HSO Staff

Please call the Main HSO Line, 319-335-6564, for general assistance with HawkIRB applications.


 

CITI Training

Joanie Hoefer, CIP HSO CITI Administrator 319.384.1176 joanie-wilson@uiowa.edu

Please review the page on required CITI training for additional information.

 

ClinicalTrials.gov Registration

  Fozia Ghafoor, MBBS   ClinicalTrials.Gov PRS Administrator 319.467.3250 ct-gov@uiowa.edu

Please review the page on ClincalTrials.gov registration requirements for additional information.

 

Community Based Participatory Research

Kelly O'Berry, CIP Education and Outreach Manager 319.335.8477 kelly-oberry@uiowa.edu

 

Compliance Program

Lisa Schumacher, PhD Senior IRB Compliance and Education Specialist 319.384.4624 lisa-schumacher@uiowa.edu

 

Conflict of Interest in Research Committee (CIRC)

Martha Hedberg, MPA Conflict of Interest in Research Manager 319.384.4256 martha-hedberg@uiowa.edu
Christopher Taylor, MLIS Interim Sr. Conflict of Interest in Research Application Analyst 319.467.1012 christopher-taylor@uiowa.edu

 

Education and Outreach Program

Kelly O'Berry, CIP IRB Education and Outreach Manager 319.335.8477 kelly-oberry@uiowa.edu
Joanie Hoefer, CIP Senior IRB Education and Outreach Specialist 319.384.1176 joanie-wilson@uiowa.edu

 

External/Single IRB Use

Mark Brunt External IRB\Regulatory Supervisor 319.467.7297 mark-brunt@uiowa.edu
Mayzie Tucker WIRB/Biomedical IRB Application Coordinator 319.467.4182 uiwirb@uiowa.edu
Jarrod Feld External IRB Coordinator 319.467.1806 uirb-external@uiowa.edu

Please review the page on external and single/central IRB reliance models for additional information.

 

IRB Chairs

J. Andrew Bertolatus, MD Primary IRB Chair   319.384.4424 john-bertolatus@uiowa.edu
Catherine Woodman, MD IRB-01 Expedited 319.339.7186 catherine-woodman@uiowa.edu
Lois Geist, MD IRB-03 319.339.8067 lois-geist@uiowa.edu
Dixie Ecklund, RN, MSN, MBA IRB-01    319.335.8446 dixie-ecklund@uiowa.edu
Douglas L. Somers, MD IRB-01 319.356.8252 douglas-somers@uiowa.edu
William McGinnis, MD IRB-01   william-mcginnis@uiowa.edu
Janet Karen Williams, PhD, RN, FAAN IRB-02 319.335.7046 janet-williams@uiowa.edu
John Wadsworth, PhD IRB-02 319.335.5246 john-s-wadsworth@uiowa.edu
Michael Lovaglia, PhD IRB-02 319.335.2494 michael-lovaglia@uiowa.edu
Jeffrey Meier, MD IRB-03   jeffery-meier@uiowa.edu

 

IRB Full Board Scheduling                  

Svetha Swaminathan, MS IRB Full Board Coordinator 319.467.1871 svetha-swaminathan@uiowa.edu

 

IRB Full Board submissions: Pre-Screen, Minutes, Minutes Response

Tony Quinlan, MBA, CIP Assistant Director - IRB Review 319.335.9848  tony-quinlan@uiowa.edu
Kela 'Kay' Lewis, MBA Biomedical Focus Supervisor (01/03) 319.467.1734 kela-lewis@uiowa.edu
Mark Brunt, MBA External IRB\Regulatory Supervisor 319.467.7297 mark-brunt@uiowa.edu
Joanne Seeberger, MA Senior IRB Application Analyst 319.353.3052 joanne-seeberger@uiowa.edu

 

IRB-02 Social Science/Behavioral Program

Wendy Daubert, MA IRB Application Analyst 319.384.1736 wendy-daubert@uiowa.edu
Julie Eisele IRB Application Analyst 319.467.1807 julie-eisele@uiowa.edu
Lance Hanson, MA IRB Application Analyst 319.467.4161 lance-hanson@uiowa.edu 

 

IRB-03 VAMC Questions

Tony Quinlan, MBA, CIP  Assistant Director - IRB Review 319.335.9848 tony-quinlan@uiowa.edu
Brian Dake VA Liaison 319.338.0581 x3595 brian.dake@va.gov

 

Minimal Risk Studies 

Brian Bishop, MA, CIP IRB Chair Designee 319.335.6563 brian-bishop@uiowa.edu
Wendy Daubert, MA IRB Application Analyst 319.384.1736 wendy-daubert@uiowa.edu
Julie Eisele IRB Application Analyst 319.467.1807 julie-eisele@uiowa.edu

 

Policies & Guidance

Michele Countryman, CIP Director 319.353.4452 michele-countryman@uiowa.edu
Tony Quinlan, MBA, CIP Assistant Director - IRB Review 319.335.9848 tony-quinlan@uiowa.edu

Click here for additional information on reporting a concern. 

 

All HSO Staff

Michele Countryman, CIP Director 319.353.4452
J. Andrew "Andy" Bertolatus, MD Primary IRB Chair 319.384.4424
Tony Quinlan, MBA, CIP Assistant Director - IRB Review 319.335.9848
Kelly O'Berry, CIP IRB Education and Outreach Manager 319.335.8477
Martha Hedberg, MPA Conflict of Interest in Research Manager 319.384.4256
Brian Bishop, MA, CIP IRB Chair Designee 319.335.6563
Mark Brunt, MBA External IRB\Regulatory Supervisor 319.335.7297
Gabrielle Ursula Chelette IRB Application Analyst 319.467.1643
Wendy Daubert, MA IRB Application Analyst 319.384.1736
Julie Eisele IRB Application Analyst 319.467.1807
Jarrod Feld External IRB/Biomedical IRB Application Coordinator 319.467.1806
Lance Hanson, MA IRB Application Analyst 319.467.4161
Joanie Hoefer, CIP Senior IRB Education and Outreach Specialist 319.384.1176
Kela "Kay" Lewis, MBA Biomedical Focus Supervisor (01/03) 319.467.1734
Carly Okken HSO\IRB Project Specialist 319.467.3004
Lisa Schumacher, PhD Senior IRB Compliance and Education Specialist 319.384.4624
Joanne Seeberger, MA Senior IRB Application Analyst 319.353.3052
Svetha Swaminathan, MS Full Board Coordinator 319.467.1871
Christopher Taylor, MLIS Interim Sr. Conflict of Interest in Research Application Analyst 319.467.1012
Mayzie Tucker WIRB/Biomedical IRB Application Coordinator 319.467.4182

 

Upload: