HawkIRB Training Sessions

Training Sessions

How to Complete a HawkIRB New Project Application

This two-part training provides an overview of the HawkIRB New Project Application, including guidance to assist you in responding to many of the questions in the form.

Part 1

Part 1 covers:

  • Overview of the HawkIRB system and the IRB review process
  • Sections I-VI of the form

 

Tuesday, September 1, 2020
9:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Zoom
Thursday, October 8, 2020
1:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Zoom
Wednesday, November 4, 2020
9:00 AM - 10:30 AM
Zoom
Friday, December 4, 2020
9:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Zoom

 

Pre-registration is recommended.

 

Part 2

Part 2 includes:

  • Sections VII-XII of the form
  • Attachments
  • Workflow

 

Thursday, September 10, 2020
9:00 AM - 10:30 AM
Zoom
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
9:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Zoom
Monday, November 9, 2020
1:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Zoom
Wednesday, December 9, 2020
10:00 AM - 11:30 AM
Zoom

 

Pre-registration is recommended.

 

Forms Submitted After IRB Approval - Modification, Continuing Review, Reportable Event Forms (REFs), and Project Close Forms

 This training session provides an overview of the forms that may need to be submitted to the IRB after approval of the study, including:

  • Continuing Review Form
  • Modification Form
  • Reportable Event Form
  • Project Closure Form

Note: We strongly recommend attending the New Project sessions before attending this session.

 

Monday, September 14, 2020
2:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Zoom
Friday, October 23, 2020
10:00 AM - 11:30 AM
Zoom
Tuesday, November 17, 2020
1:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Zoom
Tuesday, December 15, 2020
9:00 AM - 10:30 AM
Zoom

 

Pre-registration is recommended.

 

HawkIRB Submissions for the Single IRB Model – Form submission for Lead and Relying Sites

In the Single IRB (sIRB) model, one IRB oversees research at multiple study sites. The UI IRB could serve as the Lead IRB or rely on another IRB to oversee UI research activities. UI researchers must submit a HawkIRB application even when the project is overseen by another IRB. This training provides an orientation to the HawkIRB New Project form and the University of Iowa review process for studies that use the single IRB model.

  • When the UI IRB is the Lead IRB, HawkIRB collects information about researchactivities at all study sites that are relying on the UI IRB.
  • When the UI IRB relies on an external IRB, the HawkIRB form collects basicinformation to ensure compliance with institutional policies and procedures andstate regulations.

This presentation may provide useful information even if you have filled out a previous HawkIRB application for the sIRB model.

NOTE: This presentation does not cover Western IRB (WIRB) or the National Central Institute Cancer IRB (NCI CIRB). Refer to these web pages for additional guidance on preparing submissions for commercial/external IRBs.

 

Wednesday, September 23, 2020
9:00 AM - 10:30 AM
Zoom
Thursday, October 29, 2020
1:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Zoom
Thursday, November 19, 2020
1:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Zoom
Thursday, December 17, 2020
2:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Zoom

 

Pre-registration is recommended.